This year students in the Department of Biomedical Engineering at the University of Utah received four fellowships and five honorable mentions from the National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowship Program (NSF GRFP).

The NSF GRFP is a competitive fellowship available to first- and second-year graduate students. Fellows receive a stipend of $34,000 per year for 3 years, allowing fellows additional financial support for research and more research independence.

This year’s awardees and honorable mentions are:

  • Julia Dunn – Awardee
  • Emma Luke – Awardee
  • Nathaniel Ray Olsen – Awardee
  • Lindsay Cecala Rupp – Awardee
  • Arjun Archarya – Honorable Mention
  • Jake Aaron Bergquist – Honorable Mention
  • Anna C Deleray – Honorable Mention
  • Jeanet Victoria Mante – Honorable Mention
  • Matthew William Talbot – Honorable Mention

The BME Graduate Student Advisory Committee hosts an annual NSF GRFP workshop run by current NSF fellows in the department. The workshop was founded and is directed by graduate students Jacob George and Marta Iversen, with the support of current NSF fellows who serve as dedicated peer mentors, including Shana Black, Kara Johnson, Chantel Charlebois, and Casia Wardzala. The workshop provides general advice and one-on-one mentoring throughout the application process.

Applications for the 2021 NSF GRFP are October 2020. Stay tuned for the NSF GRFP workshop, which will be available as a Canvas course to prospective applicants in ~August.