Congratulations to all 2024 College of Engineering graduates!

This year’s College convocation ceremony, held on May 2, 2024 at the Jon M. Huntsman Center, recognized the dedication and hard work of all our graduating Ph.D, Masters, and undergraduate students.  Additionally, the long-serving leader of the John and Marcia Price College of Engineering, Dean Richard Brown presided over this annual event likely for the last time: as recently announced, Dean Brown is relinquishing his two-decade role as dean, with Dr. Charles Musgrave has been appointed as his successor, effective July 1, 2024.

Department of Biomedical Engineering Chair, Dr. David Grainger, was recognized for recent Fellow designation with the National Academy of Inventors (full story here).

Biomedical Engineering celebrated the award of XXX B.S. degrees, YYY M.S. degrees and ZZZ Ph.D. degrees.

Most notable College-wide awards presented to graduating students are noted below.

2024 John and Marcia Price College of Engineering Outstanding Awards:

Outstanding Ph.D Dissertation
Youjia Zhou, Kahlert School of Computing

Outstanding Graduating Student Leader
Tanner Frahm, Biomedical Engineering

Outstanding Service
Steven Parker, 2024 University of Utah Honorary Doctor of Engineering, Vice President of Professional Graphics, NVIDIA

Outstanding Undergraduate Research

Ethan Gallup, Chemical Engineering

Andrew Tolton, Materials Science and Engineering

Outstanding Undergraduate Research Mentor
Jacob George, Electrical and Computer Engineering